Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2016, 11:22   #1

New to the Cruiser's Forum

I just joined this group and although I don't own a boat, I'm putting the house up for sale and will soon be in the market for a boat to live a lifelong dream.

A little about me.... I'm a photographer living in the midwest, I have been a PADI certified diver since 1990, love the ocean and traveling so this is a natural fit for me.

I guess my biggest question at this point is what kind of questions should I be asking those who are trying to sell their boats?

I know zilch about sailing yachts so I'm going to need a lot of guidance. I'll be interested in a boat that I can handle myself while cruising the coastal waters of the Gulf and Caribbean.

tropicala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 11:37   #2

Boat: Ohlson 29
Re: New to the Cruiser's Forum

Welcome to CF!

There are plenty of topics here worth reading

Pretty much all well built and maintained boats can take you anywhere you want to go. Which one is best for you depends on what type of boats you like, what your wants & needs are and, most of all, your budget. Those are all things you need to figure out for yourself

My advise: see if you can join people who own boats you like for a day of sailing. Learn about boats and sailing before you start looking for a boat to buy. You need to know your (dis)likes & needs before you can start selecting, and you can't work that out by just looking at pictures on the net.
Old 06-02-2016, 18:44   #3

Boat: Macgreggor Venture 22

Welcome! You came to the right place...

http://curioussailor.blogspot.com/
Curious Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 03:59   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)