Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-04-2019, 04:05   #1

Boat: Bruce Roberts Spray 37 pilothouse
Repainting my steel boat

Hi, looking for some advice!

I’m about to do the bottom paint on my steel boat, the pervious owner isn’t sure what bottom paint is currently on but he said he was going to sand to roughen it up, red lead it and then antifoul. Does this sound right? Any suggestions?

On top,

Any suggestions on how to go about repainting the top?

I’m a total newbie and finding it hard to find the right question to ask to get the right answer

Thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	F124811E-00AF-4DEE-BBBD-BF453D2957D6.jpg
Views:	364
Size:	411.4 KB
ID:	190914   Click image for larger version

Name:	459BC850-8DC2-408F-BC02-4E39B471EDE7.jpg
Views:	346
Size:	233.1 KB
ID:	190915  

Name:	5F0E30BF-6CD5-49C6-B90A-FF2DD3BC4BB2.jpeg
Views:	580
Size:	175.5 KB
ID:	190916  
JimMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2019, 04:26   #2
cruiser

Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Re: Repainting my steel boat

Read this from cover to cover

https://www.amazon.com/Metal-boat-ma.../dp/B0070QRME4
conachair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2019, 04:38   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by conachair View Post
Just bought it, much appreciated
Old 28-04-2019, 05:24   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters

Conachair’s recommendation is a good one; he beat me to it.

Your question is not clear as to what you intend. Presumably the bottom has a barrier coat such as coal altar epoxy or a 2 part epoxy. If it does not have one it needs it. The basic idea is that the steel needs to be isolated from the “bottom” paint to prevent an unwanted reaction.

Any bare Steel needs to be protected first.