Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-01-2020, 22:14   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Cannot locate Port Com for Garmin InReach in Connection Menu

Hi all,

I have a Garmin InReach GPS and I want to connect it to OpenCPN via the Connection menu.

The problem is that it does not show up in any Com Ports.

I have checked the Device Manager and the Ports (COM & LPT) is not even showing up.

I am lost... any ideas how to connect the GPS?

See image joined (Com)
Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Com.png
Views:	15
Size:	59.6 KB
ID:	207021  
LonelyBoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2020, 22:42   #2
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Petersburg, AK
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 2,430
Re: Cannot locate Port Com for Garmin InReach in Connection Menu

You don't say what computer OS, but something like this may work on most Windows:

plug in Garmin
Open Device Manager
click on action
add legacy hardware
click on next
search for and install the hardware automatically(Recommended)
next
it will detect that com port and next
double click com port
next
next and finish
now you will be able to see that com port (you hope)

If that doesn't work you can try the same thing again but choose "manual" instead of "automatic" and then tell the system that you are trying to install a com port. If Garmin provided a drivers disk you may also want to select the "I have drivers option".
Dsanduril is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:12   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 632
Re: Cannot locate Port Com for Garmin InReach in Connection Menu

Iíve had an Inreach for some time now
(Delorme) and was told by the Delorme gents
that there was no way to export GPS data.
Bluetooth, Wifi, NADA
I wanted to use it as a GPS source for my
ipad instead of buying an outboard puck.
Be interested if anybody ever got this to work
I wanted to be able to use my entertainment Ipad
as a plotter back up but just had a wifi version.

Cheers
Neil
Time2Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, men

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iridium Go w/t Predict Wind vs. Garmin InReach Explorer or SE Plus Amani Jnana Navigation 3 13-01-2020 15:13
Cannot access symlink port Rival32 OpenCPN 1 12-11-2019 00:13
port names cannot be displayed gerkios OpenCPN 5 16-11-2014 14:38
InReach SE v. InReach Explorer rockDAWG Marine Electronics 4 04-11-2014 13:34
Garmin Video Port / Computer Connection RaySea Lady Marine Electronics 4 11-03-2010 20:35

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.