Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2019, 05:16   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 419
Mixing Nmea0183 & Nmea2000 or SeatalkNG

Many people are upgrading electronics that are Nmea2000 or SeatalkNG (Raymarine nmea2000) but still have leagacy nmea0183 devices/instruments/radios.

I have several Raymarine I70s displays with speed/wind / depth (on nmea2000 backbone) but would like to get Navigational/Ais from Nmea 0183 chartplotter to them.
What devices did you use to get Nmea 0183 to Nmea2000 or vice versa
__________________
__________________

maine50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 06:19   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hingham
Boat: Dickerson 37AC
Posts: 424
Re: Mixing Nmea0183 & Nmea2000 or SeatalkNG

I bought a new Garmin 942XS chartplotter this year. I have older Raymarine ST60+ instruments and a Simrad hydraulic autopilot with AP11 head unit.

I used the Raymarine seatalk to NMEA2K converter to get the instruments on the NMEA backbone. Pretty much plug n play.

I used the Garmin head unit to "speak" NMEA0183 to the Autopilot by reading the manual and wiring the correct wires to Simrad junction box J300X.

Then I ran an NMEA2K back bone from chartplotter up forward near nav so that I can add on as necessary.

I was expecting a complete headache but was pleasantly surprised that it all just worked. I think the easiest way to use NMEA0183 is for ancillary devices like the autopilot. Not sure if it actually feeds anything back to Garmin in TX, probably just getting RX from chartplotter.

Now my only issue is that recently my wind gauge is showing wind 120 degrees off starboard no matter the true wind angle. Wind speed seems accurate though.
__________________

sailah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 08:22   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,511
Re: Mixing Nmea0183 & Nmea2000 or SeatalkNG

Actisense ngw
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 08:41   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Francisco Bay
Posts: 156
Re: Mixing Nmea0183 & Nmea2000 or SeatalkNG

Quote:
Originally Posted by maine50 View Post
Many people are upgrading electronics that are Nmea2000 or SeatalkNG (Raymarine nmea2000) but still have leagacy nmea0183 devices/instruments/radios.

I have several Raymarine I70s displays with speed/wind / depth (on nmea2000 backbone) but would like to get Navigational/Ais from Nmea 0183 chartplotter to them.
What devices did you use to get Nmea 0183 to Nmea2000 or vice versa
__________________
Is that NMEA 0183 or Seatalk 1? If Seatalk 1, simply use E22158. I use it to mix and match old and Raymarine electronics on my boat and couldn't be happier. Even the autopilot on Seatalk 1 could be controlled from the Chartplotter on SeatalkNG/NMEA 2000.
Tenedos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 08:43   #5
Registered User
 
Smokeys Kitchen's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Living aboard in the Puget Sound for the winter
Boat: 1999 Pacific Seacraft 40
Posts: 342
Re: Mixing Nmea0183 & Nmea2000 or SeatalkNG

Updated some of the electronics last year. Pulled the old Raymarine AIS 250 as well as the broken multiplexer. Installed a new Vesper Marine XB6000 and a Rose Point NEMO multiplexer gateway. Works well.

The XB6000 does have to be hardwired into my laptop for control, but the output can go out wirelessly through a separate wireless router linked into the system and is wired into the Raymarine E80 through the NEMO Gateway
Smokeys Kitchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 05:23   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Coast Florida
Boat: Chris Craft 38 Commander 1965
Posts: 226
Re: Mixing Nmea0183 & Nmea2000 or SeatalkNG

I have a combo Seatalk-ng and Nmea 2000 backbones spliced together. Converted most equipment that allow both data inputs to work off the 2000 data instead of the 0183 except the AIS which comes through a dAISy2 which only has 0183. Then to feeds data into a Actinsense converter that plugs into both and combines the data.
Did some more splicing with individually purchased end connectors to allow leaving power to the backbone and still turn off/on some instruments that donít have switches. The
Raymarine ST70 looses its setting if power is t
Italy turned off and has to have user setting reapplied on startup elsewise. So leaving power to backbone with other stuff turned off eliminates issue.
Squanderbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 05:25   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Coast Florida
Boat: Chris Craft 38 Commander 1965
Posts: 226
Re: Mixing Nmea0183 & Nmea2000 or SeatalkNG

I have a combo Seatalk-ng and Nmea 2000 backbones spliced together. Converted most equipment that allow both data inputs to work off the 2000 data instead of the 0183 except the AIS which comes through a dAISy2 which only has 0183. Then to feeds data into a Actinsense converter that plugs into both and combines the data.
Did some more splicing with individually purchased end connectors to allow leaving power to the backbone and still turn off/on some instruments that donít have switches. The
Raymarine ST70 looses its setting if power is totally
turned off and has to have user setting reapplied on startup elsewise. So leaving power to backbone with other stuff turned off eliminates issue.
Squanderbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 09:29   #8
Registered User
 
jkindredpdx's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 35'
Posts: 1,189
Images: 5
Re: Mixing Nmea0183 & Nmea2000 or SeatalkNG

I tried unsuccessfully to connect a dAISy AIS receiver to my Garmin EchoMap 54cv... I have a signal from the dAISy, but don't get AIS information displayed on the 54cv?
__________________

__________________
http://www.sednahr35.blogspot.com/ Jim K.
jkindredpdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, seatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B&G Vulcan 3 - SeatalkNG - Seatalk questions philtrick Marine Electronics 4 19-04-2018 07:38
Nmea0183 wpt & rte rgleason OpenCPN 6 04-12-2017 12:56
Analog Volvo D2-55C to SeatalkNG, Seatalk or NMEA0183 Harvester 1 Marine Electronics 5 11-06-2016 11:43
Connecting VHF, AIS, GPS - NMEA0183 and NMEA2000 TheNomadTrip Marine Electronics 37 17-12-2015 18:03
nmea2000, nmea0183, ST and WIFI for openCPN? blubaju OpenCPN 3 13-03-2015 01:03



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.