Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-10-2019, 12:14   #1

Socal Cruising: Channel Islands and SMB

Hey All,

I'm a newbie, and have only been sailing for a year or so, but am finishing up the ASA 104 course and want to purchase a used boat for Santa Monica Bay and cruising around Catalina and the Channel Islands.

I'm looking for something under $100k, but preferably around $40-60k or less, and am considering an older F-28 or Telstar 28. The sailing looks fun, and I read that they can motor pretty quickly, which might save some time getting out the 30 miles from MDR channel to Catalina in typical SMB light winds. I also really like the idea of being able to trailer them and bring to other locations.

However, I'm concerned about how those boats might handle the waves? Would be interested if any of you have experience on them or similar tri's, or more generally whether my plan sounds nutty and I should just go for a mono. (I don't want to have to pay for an end slip, cleaning, etc. on a larger cat.)
Patrick79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2019, 17:32   #2

Re: Socal Cruising: Channel Islands and SMB

F 28 would be an awesome boat for the Channel Islands!
Training Wheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2019, 02:56   #3

Boat: 2013 FP Lipari 41

Quote:
Originally Posted by Training Wheels View Post
F 28 would be an awesome boat for the Channel Islands!

LeeV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 10:54   #4

Thanks guys!
Patrick79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 06:20   #5

Boat: 46' custom cat "Rum Doxy", Roughwater 41"Abreojos"