Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-04-2015, 16:02   #1

Gulf to VIrgin Islands/Caribbean

Hello all, this is my first post. I do not know if this is the correct place so please don't criticize me. I've been researching sailing cruising for a few months so I've decided to join so I can participate in discussions and learn more. I am only 21, but I am eager to participate and be around. Please don't write me off as a young kid who is just fixated/interested for a few months.

I am a complete beginner and only sailed once in a lake when I was younger. However, for as long as I can remember I have been drawn to the water. I often think about being on the water. And have decided that when I graduate in 2 years I would like to go on a sailing trip and move to a coastal area. I've even entertained the living aboard idea as well.

I am interested in gulf/Florida keys/Caribbean sailing. And am probably going to pick up a few books and try to find someone near me. (Currently in Houston Texas area) who can maybe teach me. (I will work for knowledge) but the main reason for my post is to find out if anyone has some tips and stuff I can start to learn so that when the time comes to start looking for a boat I will be prepared. And tips for things to learn skills wise. I know a lot is learned through experience. My grandpa always says, "anyone can learn to sail in a weekend, but it takes a lifetime to become a true sailor".

Thanks!!!!
Camcmillen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2015, 16:50   #2

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
Re: Gulf to VIrgin Islands/Caribbean

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camcmillen View Post