Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-11-2018, 15:50   #1

Boat: FP Elba 45
Unsinkable Fountaine Pajot

Below I have cut and pasted a copy from Fountaine Pajot website under ' Why buy a Fountaine Pajot quote '(Our boats are unsinkable in all conditions and feature a sacrificial skeg, crash box, balsa sandwich construction and other elements to guarantee optimal peace of mind). As i am interested in the new FP45 I am studying up on anything that may put a tick on the buy side of things, so folks that statement is huge to say the least, "unsinkable in all conditions!" I don't think I have seen that on any of the other two main stream manufactures web site. Well great if it is true, how does FP test that? other than trying to sink one? unlikely, be a disaster if the test failed, one assumes the engineers and designers can support that claim by build specifications.
Certainly would gain a tick on the buy side.
peterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2018, 18:14   #2

Re: Unsinkable Fountaine Pajot

It's not just FP. Most modern catamarans are constructed utilizing composites, whereby a core material, usually foam, is sandwiched between two skins of resin impregnated cloth. This yields a very strong, rot-free structure, which is not only stiff and torsion resistant, but also makes the entire configuration float. The volume of the foam used in the core of the sandwich alone is usually more buoyant than the entire weight of the boat, including machinery, crew, and cruising gear. Additionally, solid foam is usually integrated into the bows below the waterline.