Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-02-2014, 17:07   #1

Morgan 45

Hello people of the sea,
I would like some advice. I'm a newb and want to get my own boat. I'm looking at a Morgan 45 which has got my attention but I did a bit of research and people are talking these boats down. Whats wrong with the Morgans? Why have they got a bad rap? The boat "looks" good and has a nice layout for liveaboard. Please keep in mind that I'm not a racer and don't need perfomance so much as functionality.
Thanks Steve
Stevediveski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2014, 17:15   #2
cruiser

Boat: Alden 44
Re: Morgan 45

I have a friend who owns a Morgan and loves the boat. Although IMHO I think there are better boats out there with a good liveaboard layout below and better sailing performance comparatively priced.
satdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2014, 17:26   #3
CLOD

Boat: none

which Morgan 45?
Old 18-02-2014, 20:27   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailorboy1 View Post
which Morgan 45?
I think it's a 1983 Morgan 45-4. Can you tell me anything about these boats?
Thanks Steve
Old 18-02-2014, 21:01   #5

Steve,
The Morgans and Irwins were budget boats when they were built. They served their purpose very well which was mostly the charter business. Many have not aged very well and depending on the intended use may not be a good choice.
That said, if they have been well maintained they can be a good choice for coastal cruising or the Caribbean or a good live a board as they are roomy boats. I have also seen some Morgans in far off lands so some people are taking them offshore but in my opinion there are better choices out there for that purpose.
robert sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2014, 21:12   #6

Thanks Robert Sailor,