Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-01-2020, 17:29   #1

Buy a long term cruiser or a starter boat?

I'd like to sail down to the Mediterranean from the UK during the season, and back up/across via the inland rivers and canals during the off-season. As I'm completely new to sailing I thought I might 'practice' closer to home on the south coast and Norfolk Broads as well. (They say if you can sail the Norfolk Broads...)

If all goes well and I enjoy the liveaboard life I'll rinse and repeat the Europe trips as long as I like, then head across the Atlantic and cruise further afield.

It seems sensible to buy a starter boat, something in the £10-15k range, either a bilge or shallow draught, with a deck stepped or hinged mast, that can deal with inland sailing, as well as something insulated or heated that can deal with cold, wet, winters. Not usually on the 'cruiser' checklist!

A Sadler, due to the handling, seaworthiness and insulation is definitely winning right now, but I'm also looking at Moodys and Westerlys, I know the quality of the boat on offer matters more than the name.

My question is whether getting a starter boat at a lower financial outlay than a classic (£30k+) cruiser makes sense? If it turns out liveaboard life is not for me, will I be able to sell it on for around the same as I got it? Do they hold their value? Would fin rather than bilge keel be better? It seems like there are fewer Sadlers available, do they shift faster or are there just less about?