Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-12-2019, 14:25   #1

Boat: PDQ 44i
Free “Learn to Cruise” course, March 2020 in the Virgin Islands

Free “Learn to Cruise” course, March 2020 in the Virgin Islands
You crew. I teach. It's a win-win proposition

Volunteer crew wanted March 10 – 21, 2020, for a cruise out of St Thomas, USVI aboard S/V Seabbatical, a 44-foot, ocean-going, sailing catamaran.
Seabbatical is well-found and fitted out for offshore cruising. I hold a USCG 100-ton master license, for both power and sail.
(See http://rhumblineyachtsales.com/antares-listings/ for images of Antares catamarans.)

My wife and I have wintered aboard Seabbatical the last 10 winters in the Eastern Caribbean. I will be single-handed for about 12 days in March 2020, so I want to offer a live-aboard cruising experience for sailors motivated to learn and willing to crew.

Seabbatical is insured as a private yacht. You will be unpaid crew, and, I hope, friends. I do not carry passengers for hire. You will not pay me, but expenses of the voyage will be shared. We shall split food, moorings, customs and immigration fees and the like equitably. You will help to set our itinerary and leisure activities.

In exchange for your sharing the work of the boat, I will teach you to be a competent and safe cruiser, someone I can rely on. I would hope for a laid-back, vacation atmosphere with some amount of daily instruction, both didactic and practical.

We will visit several of the US, Spanish, and British Virgin Islands. A valid passport is required.