Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2018, 21:05   #1

Boat: Windward marine Sea Raker 28'
Learning to navigate

I am new to sailing, I am learning to sail now on an old venture 24, and rebuilding bulkheads on my larger boat, hopefully to take south and liveaboard in a couple of years. I am hoping to be able to start spending some time sailing on lake Michigan shortly, I have plenty of boat handling experience, but know very little about navigation. I was hoping someone here could tell me the best way to learn on my own, I do not want to spend the money on any ASA courses now, and am not in a real hurry, I am just wondering if anyone has taken on line courses , and if so were they worth it, or would I be ok just reading books and charts and practicing ? I do not do well in classroom situations usually, and usually learn faster and better by just reading and doing, so i guess i am really looking for recommendations on good books, or a good online course.
Bdozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 23:15   #2

Re: Learning to navigate

I would recommend Bowditch, free download from the NATIONAL GEOSPATIAL-INTELLIGENCE AGENCY at https://msi.nga.mil/NGAPortal/MSI.po...2&pubCode=0002 or hit up eBay or other used book sources for hard-copy books from prior years. I don't think they sell a hard-copy set anymore. Good self study resource about navigation from swinging the compass right on through to pretty much whatever you might wish to know how to do along those lines.
Oldfurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 23:38   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Camper & Nicholson58 Ketch - ROXY Traverse City, Michigan No.668283