Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-11-2017, 09:44   #1

Texas Sailing Oppurtunity

Hello all,

I am looking for a sailboat owner in Texas willing to take my family out for a couple hour sail. I have a lot of sailing experience my my family has not sailed and we are talking about spending a year aboard providing the kids don't get seasick. I will pay the expenses and/or a fee for this service. Thanks, Mark
mmedinge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2017, 11:00   #2

Boat: Nauticat 43
Re: Texas Sailing Oppurtunity

Where in Texas are you? Texas is a good sized state. Since you have sailing experience and you're willing to pay, have you considered bare boat chartering from most any place giving sailing lessons? For example, Windward SeaVenture out of Kemah rents sailboats from about 20-45 feet.
Old 27-11-2017, 12:01   #3

We live in the DFW area and are willing to go to the Galveston area. A 2 hour sailing intro is about $400 which seems fairly steep. I was hoping to find someone who was willing to to make $250 or so for two hours. I don't have any ASA certs so I had not considered a charter. I have sailed off and on since I was about 8 years old in a Sport Yak to a 37' Morgan which we brought from New Jersey to Louisiana. Charter companies would rather rent to someone with two weekends of experience taking an ASA course rather then 50 years of real seamanship.
Old 27-11-2017, 12:12   #4

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33

There are lots of sailing options near DFW...Lake Texoma, Grapevine, etc. And a few ASA schools.

Try some of the local sailing clubs in the area, I bet someone would take you out just for fun.
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2017, 12:15   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmedinge View Post