Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-07-2017, 07:18   #1

Scotland to Canada

I'm new here. Looks like a great group.
I'm planning o taking my 24 foot rib from Italy to North Carolina next Summer. Worried about Scotland to Canada. Cant find info- distances, ports etc. any help greatly appreciated.
sam blount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2017, 08:27   #2

Boat: a sailing boat
Re: Scotland to Canada

More info?

A rib will need 'some' fuel. Some distances are big. How do you manage this?

b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2017, 10:40   #3

Thanks any idea how long longest leg would be? I'm just getting started. Realize may not be feasible.
Old 20-07-2017, 10:50   #4

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Moody 31

The northern light aircraft route is probably your only choice unless you have a safe range of 1500 miles for the Azores to New Foundland route.

So Scotland to Faroes, Iceland, Greenland, New Foundland. You need to the two books Alan Priddy wrote about his trips from NFL to England having run out of fuel off Iceland and a couple of years later around the world.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Beating-Big...ds=alan+priddy

The boat a 10m rib is still somewhere between Scotland and Iceland as it sank.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Confronting...ds=alan+priddy

Bear Grylss also did it with a massive boat and budget so more like gin palace therefore less said about him the better.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2017, 11:24   #5

Thanks. I'll get the books.
Old 20-07-2017, 12:17   #6

Boat: a sailing boat

The longest leg would be as long as the longest distance between your pit stops. But you must let us know the pit stops so that we can tell you the distances.

Let us know the route, we can calculate the distances then.

What rib is this? How much hp power? More than two outboards?

A very interesting project. I did not know this is done. Sounds like fun.

barnakiel