Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Fishing, Recreation & Fun
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-12-2015, 21:07   #1

Boat: Islander 30' MKII
Places to visit along Lake Superior

I'm calling to all Lake Superior sailors. I have a summer worth of cruising to fill up. I already have a general idea on where I'm going to go and where I want to visit. I'm just wondering if you guys have any recommendations of places that are a must see. Thanks in advance!

EDIT: Also I'm new to the cruisers forum and was not sure where to post this. If this is not the correct sub-forum please let me know. Cheers
_wason_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2015, 21:27   #2

Re: Places to visit along Lake Superior

Apostle islands. In particular the seacaves on the western part. Also, try Stockton Island. Very high density of black bears. Look for them on the beaches as the sun starts going down, especially on the north shore.

Obviously, there is also isle royal, and a whole bunch of island on the north shore of Superior. Have not been up that far, but people rave about them.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
monstads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2015, 21:39   #3

Boat: Rafiki 37

Oh man, there's a lifetime of cruising possibilities on Superior. As a Canadian I'm most familiar with the north and eastern shores. I'd be happy to suggest tons of places, but perhaps you can tell us what kind of things you're looking for. Urban marinas, remote anchorages, wilderness, community harbours, swimming, waterfalls, saunas, wildlife, fishing spots... The possibilities are long.

Why go fast, when you can go slow
Old 27-12-2015, 03:38   #4