Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2017, 05:22   #1

Sailing sabbatical?

Hi,

I'm new to these forums; I've been sailing for about 10 years, both yacht and dinghy sailing. Yacht sailing has mostly been 1-2 week holidays in the Med, so while I have quite a lot of weeks of sailing experience of that kind, I haven't owned a boat or lived with one for extended periods.

I can take a 6 month sabbatical from work, and would love to spend it sailing, but I'm not sure what approach to take; I don't fancy sailing single handed, and don't really know other skippers or crew I could team up with; I'm also not sure how possible it is to get hold of a boat for an extended period like this.

If anyone has any ideas as to how I could get started that'd be great!

Thanks,
Jon
nights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 06:48   #2

Boat: Hanse, 400e - 40ft
Re: Sailing sabbatical?

Good day and welcome to the forum!

I guess it all depends on what you're actually trying to accomplish.
But, going on the assumption that you simply want to spend that time "sailing", then I'll state the obvious and suggest that your best bet is to offer yourself as crew on as many sites / forums as possible to see if you can find a good match.

Here are a couple of examples to get you started:
Cruisers & Sailing Forums - Crew Positions: Wanted & Available
Crewseekers International
Find A Crew
The Crew Finder - Sailing Networks
SSCA - Crew Exchange

Best of luck!
Old 11-09-2017, 08:43   #3

Boat: Hunter 386

I don't think you will find an economical way to charter a boat for 6 months. We looked at it from every angle we could, and in the end decided it would still be cheaper to buy a nicer boat and then sell it again after the sabbatical, eating any losses than any sort of rental scheme.