Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Seamanship & Boat Handling
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2018, 09:25   #1

New boat owner - sailing in heavy wind conditions

Happy New Year to you All,

I recently purchased a used Sabre 34 monohull and have some basic sailing knowledge. As everyone here is likely aware, wind conditions in New England can change quickly and last Fall I found myself in a 25-30+ knot breeze and the boat became overpowered instantly, with a lot of weather helm (sailing close to the wind at the time). I'm still new to sailing and wanted some input from the pros on what steps you would recommend taking the next time I encounter this situation. For instance, would you try to furl the Genoa first and then adjust the main, or work the opposite way? I feel like the Genoa is the drive sail on this boat but I'm not entirely sure. When reefing do you ease the sheets to make adjustments or head up? I have read enough at this point to know that you should always try to reef before you leave the mooring field, but sometimes things change and you don't have that luxury. Any steps or helpful hints on how to adjust sails and in what order would be greatly appreciated. Also, the mainsail has two reef points. Thanks in advance for your thoughts!
Oceana207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 09:40   #2
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: New boat owner - sailing in heavy wind conditions

Howdy and Welcome Aboard CF OCEANA207!