Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2014, 10:04   #1

Question Kerosene, Propane, or Other for Cooking

Which is easiest to keep maintained, replenish, and/or store fuel for live aboard use; Kerosene, Propane, or Other? Wife (philippina) wants to stick close to the South China Sea area with no specific plans.

Also, how long can one expect a Gal or Kerosene, or lb of Propane last with normal cooking only use? (i.e., Stove, Oven, Grill, etc...) Always done either the charcoal thing or hooked my grill to the house’s natural gas, so I have no experience with either. As far as I know a 5 lb bottle could only last a few days, or over a year.

Your thoughts and other viable options welcome.

-sterling
DailyLunatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:07   #2

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
Re: Kerosene, Propane, or Other for Cooking

In the US propane. A 11# tank last us 23 - 25 days. We cook a lot (including baking bread) and boil water for dishes.
Old 04-09-2014, 10:12   #3

I used to get about 5 weeks cooking in warm climes on a 5# bottle of propane.

Cheechako is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:47   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi

Have been a kerosene user forever. Like the ease of storing fuel and safety. Carried enough fuel to last us for well over a year in the pressure tank and a couple of Gerry jugs. A small inconvenience to preheat the burners but becomes second nature.