Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-08-2019, 07:48   #1

Question Bayliner 2859 Anchoring System

Hello, I am new to boating and have purchased a 2003 Bayliner 2859. We are still trying to figure out all of the systems and have been reading as much as possible from manuals, forums, etc. as well as getting time on the water.

But I can't seem to figure out how to let the anchor down. There is the Windlass button at the helm and the up and down buttons on the bow by the anchor locker. I have tried the switch at the helm and the one on the bow but nothing happens. I think I am missing something simple but can't figure out what. Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you!!
chadandscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2019, 10:22   #2

Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Re: Bayliner 2859 Anchoring System

I would look to see if there is a circuit breaker or fuse for the windlass ( There usually is) and make sure its switched on.
pcmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 21:21   #3

Thank you PCMM. Fuses are good. We thought it was the solenoid so we changed it out. The solenoid clicks so I know it is getting power so I am thinking it is the motor.
Rentsaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 05:39   #4

Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser

The solenoid may be powered by the up/down switch(es). The motor is going to have a heavy cable directly to a battery or junction point, with a fuse or breaker in between.