Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2018, 16:06   #1

Sailing Southern California to Florida

My husband and I are dreaming of taking a year off in about three years to sail from LA to the East Coast. I’m a teacher so I would be off from June one year until the following July. If we were to leave in early November south down to Cabo, transit Panama January/February, what could our itinerary look like in the Caribbean? I’m much more familiar with the West Coast and Mexico’s- but time and weather wise, would heading north from the canal be reasonable to get to Florida by - say - May? Could we go further up the coast through the ICW?

We are reasonably experienced sailors, own a Cal 34 - which we plan to completely refurbish - and plan to sail as much as possible before then. We might also buy a bigger boat, but we do love our Cal. Our two little girls would be with us as well - they would be 7 and 12.

Any thoughts on where to and timing from Panama would be much appreciated.
Cal34Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 16:48   #2

Re: Sailing Southern California to Florida

If done in one go, the 1200 miles from Panama to Miami via the Windward Passage would likely be the longest, roughest part of the entire trip from California. But it can be done.

You don't really say... are you planning on cruising the Caribbean, stopping and visiting places along the way? Or are you pushing straight through to Florida? Jamaica and Cuba are on the direct route. Other, longer, options are available if you take the eastern end of Cuba.

If you do not have a copy of "World Cruising Routes" you should. The chapter on the issues involved in getting north from Panama is worth the price of admission.
billknny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 16:52   #3