Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-11-2018, 03:09   #1
CF Adviser

Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
BOOKS, TABLET or KINDLE?

Yippee, the house was rented today and we have a month to decide on what comes on board

For 30 years, living on the water, I carried an extensive library of reference and recreational books.

Now that you can download and use screens, are books obsolete?

Back to living on board, my deep and wide library shelves are presently empty and could be repurposed, if I wanted. My partner wants [emoji179]

I have no experience with electronic readers, so don't knowif I can find everything I need from downloads

Click image for larger version

Name:	2b Master  facing forward.JPG
Views:	548
Size:	55.3 KB
ID:	181463

So what does the modern liveaboard choose as a reading medium?
Pelagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2018, 03:28   #2

Boat: 73´ULDB custom ketch
Re: BOOKS, TABLET or KINDLE?

You save a lot of weight not carrying books. I have an iPad, but Kindle seems to me the better alternative for reading books. Uses almost no power, perfectly daylight readable, cheaper.
MartinR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2018, 03:32   #3

Boat: Globe, cutter/ketch,38

I find it depends on the book. I do most of my leisure reading on the ipad. However when it comes to manuals and technical stuff I much prefer paper.
Old 29-11-2018, 04:07   #4

Boat: Morgan Out Island 415

When I moved to Hawai'i i moved all my books to Kindle. Kindle doesnt mold in a high humidity environment. I like kindle vs a tablet/phone because of the glare free screen. I keep real cook books and technical books though (just easier for me to use with those tasks).