Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-10-2018, 13:41   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Eleuthera 60
Bad Idea? Starting our cruise in St. Thomas (ish) vs. Florida? 6 kids...ya

Okay. I thought I had a great plan. Our short situation: 2 year sabbatical. Wife and 6 kids, ages 9 and down. We currently sail; I’m a dinghy/J22 instructor/lifeguard with NO experience beyond 36’ monos. New boat is day charter equipped Lagoon 450F.

Current Plan:

1. Rent our house in California.
2. Road trip leisurely across the US after Christmas to Ft. Lauderdale where we have a private slip behind the home of a professional charter/delivery captain (who would also help bring the boat up).
3. Leave the family at Disney World for two weeks and fly to Aruba with crew to sail our sailboat up to the reserved dock. (Over 1,000nm).
4. Move aboard leisurely using AB&B when boat is untenable.
5. Complete solar array, house bank, inverters, etc., enclosures, radar, biminis, H2O maker, etc. (lots I can do myself IF parts are available).
6. Shakedown in the Florida Keys/Bahamas. (Many Captains around to help learn the boat).
7. Cast off after a few months.
8. Hurricane plan for 2019...???...yikes.

BUT, my wife just asked why we don’t scrap the plan and fly to St. Thomas and live there while outfitting and learning the ropes. Her intent is to get to the destination and simplify the plan.

ANY WISDOM/CONCERNS WELCOME!
Old 23-10-2018, 14:22   #2
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Re: Bad Idea? Starting our cruise in St. Thomas (ish) vs. Florida? 6 kids...ya

The only downside I'd see to St. Thomas, is that anything you need has got to be SHIPPED THERE. So, something that might be available within a hour's ride, or overnite by Amazon on the US coast, becomes a week's waiting time for shipping, plus costs.