Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-10-2019, 19:22   #16
Registered User
 
Brian.D's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Oceanside Ca
Boat: Lancer 27PS
Posts: 157
Re: Connecting to Winlink stations

That's good to hear. Thanks for the updates!
__________________

__________________
Brian D
KF6BL
S/V Takara
Brian.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2019, 04:46   #17
Registered User
 
Auspicious's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: HR 40
Posts: 2,205
Send a message via Skype™ to Auspicious
Re: Connecting to Winlink stations

Quote:
Originally Posted by phorvati View Post
Fixed.

Good deal. Congratulations.


Quote:
Originally Posted by phorvati View Post
i soldered the two channels together so that the two inner sections of audio jack were together. Outer section on audio jack was ground.

Just for the record those are called tip, ring, and sleeve. Tip is left audio, ring is right audio, and sleeve is ground.


To get audio in and out of newer devices (phones, tablets, newer laptops with combi jacks) there is a 1/8" (3 mm) four conductor plug: TRRS is tip, ring, ring, sleeve. Tip is left audio, first ring is right audio, second ring is ground, and sleeve is mic. *sigh* Counter intuitive to us old guys.
__________________

__________________
S/V Auspicious
AuspiciousWorks
Beware cut and paste sailors
Auspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2019, 06:19   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Boat: Tayana FD-12
Posts: 825
Images: 6
Re: Connecting to Winlink stations

I love this forum because specific instructions on how to do stuff remain in the threads. It almost acts like a repository for instructions and information for the ones not so diligent and orderly to write these types of things down. I am better at it now, but 10 years ago I was not so good. Numerous times I went back to look at my own posts years later to see what i was trying to do. The one thing i don't like is when thread gets overloaded with useless info. Like suggestions to get a new piece of equipment when something doesn't work, or to or hire a professional.
phorvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2019, 09:27   #19
Registered User
 
Brian.D's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Oceanside Ca
Boat: Lancer 27PS
Posts: 157
Re: Connecting to Winlink stations

The thing that bugs me to no end, and chaps my hide, is the "I found the solution" and that solution is never posted.
__________________
Brian D
KF6BL
S/V Takara
Brian.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2019, 09:45   #20
Registered User
 
Auspicious's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: HR 40
Posts: 2,205
Send a message via Skype™ to Auspicious
Re: Connecting to Winlink stations

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian.D View Post
The thing that bugs me to no end, and chaps my hide, is the "I found the solution" and that solution is never posted.

In this case the solution was posted. The OP had misplaced the modem<>radio control cable and forgot he needed it.
__________________
S/V Auspicious
AuspiciousWorks
Beware cut and paste sailors
Auspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2019, 11:03   #21
Registered User
 
Brian.D's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Oceanside Ca
Boat: Lancer 27PS
Posts: 157
Re: Connecting to Winlink stations

[sarcasm]Really? I didn't know that. Like a lot of people on this board, I never, ever read ALL the comments. I just post like there is no tomorrow.[/sarcasm]
__________________

__________________
Brian D
KF6BL
S/V Takara
Brian.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WXTides Stations (Lots) in OpenCPN idpnd OpenCPN 35 14-10-2010 14:39
Do Any LORAN Stations Remain ? svHyLyte Marine Electronics 11 11-10-2010 16:51
Display AIS Base Stations on OpenCPN wimvdh OpenCPN 5 15-09-2010 12:17
Fish Cleaning Stations nine lufts Provisioning: Food & Drink 9 29-11-2009 16:35
AIS land stations open to the public sinbad7 Marine Electronics 2 18-11-2006 09:40

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.