Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2019, 00:59   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
Is it possible to have a client-server configuration?

Hello, just a newbie asking here.
I wanted to know if it was possible to make a client-server configuration of OpenCPN.
I mean, having a configured OpenCPN installed (as a server) in the deck, with the GPS, AIS and the charts installed, and then having one (or more) tablets on board to access this OpenCPN server.
That would allow you to have several tablets in different parts of the boat (without the need of carrying them around).

I would see this configuration the best one, and would like to know if it would be possible to do so.

Best regards.
__________________

ptolomeoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 01:15   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Austria
Posts: 245
Re: Is it possible to have a client-server configuration?

install VNC on your tablets and access ocpn via wifi.
__________________

skipperearly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 02:50   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Becalmed in the Med
Boat: Prout Snowgoose 35
Posts: 1,181
Re: Is it possible to have a client-server configuration?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipperearly View Post
install VNC on your tablets and access ocpn via wifi.
Which unfortunately is dog slow even on the fasts networks if you actually need to do anything on OpenCPN.

This certainly isn't the first thread where this has been asked.

One of the reasons people would like this server-client relationship is so that their tracks, routes, polars, logging data is is saved centrally and shared/synced across multiple devices/installations.

I don't even think it needs a server/client, more just the ability to save all the data to database that can then be accessed by other installations.

Some of the commercial software (TimeZero for example) has started to incorporate this syncing of devices, and MFDs already have it. Not knocking OpenCPN, the guys/girls do great work. It just was never on their mind that people might want multiple installations and data syncing. I guess it's a testament to the popularity of OpenCPN that users are now asking for it.
mikedefieslife is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 03:41   #4
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,513
Re: Is it possible to have a client-server configuration?

Check out RDP instead of VNC.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 20:27   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Ventura, CA
Boat: Nauticat 43
Posts: 70
Re: Is it possible to have a client-server configuration?

Yep. With a WiFi router, works just fine. I have that set up on my boat. USB in to a Mac mini with all the NMEA data. Then set up a UDP over TCP/IP connection on the mini. My iPad & iPhone get the data over WiFi running whatever app I want - my fav is NMEA Remote. INavX is also an option. Just set each app to “listen” on the UDP port and the data comes through just fine.
SCarns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 03:34   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 36,048
Images: 241
Re: Is it possible to have a client-server configuration?

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, ptolomeoo.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 15:50   #7
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 13,519
Re: Is it possible to have a client-server configuration?

Perhaps some of these links will help
https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...ntary_hardware
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 16:25   #8
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 3,625
Re: Is it possible to have a client-server configuration?

Easy solution is to install SAMBA on a Pi with OpenPlotter and set up a public share. Easy to access shared data on the network then. You still need to move charts to each device if not using VNC to access OpneCPN on the Pi, though
__________________

Reefmagnet is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System possible configuration? Sir_Crabs_A_Lot OpenCPN 25 08-10-2018 19:00
TCP/IP NMEA Client Settings for INavX over GoFree? Dockhead Marine Electronics 11 24-05-2014 07:22
Server Errors on the Server Errors thread Tom Stormcrowe Forum Tech Support & Site Help 11 24-08-2012 06:51
Client Fail unbusted67 The Sailor's Confessional 32 21-08-2011 18:41
Which Email Client?? BigAl.NZ Marine Electronics 0 30-09-2008 01:22

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.