Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2018, 05:01   #1

Boat: Intex Seahawk 2 person 9 foot boat, Watersnake trolling motor
Newbie - Rules on navigation

Hey guys i am brand new to boating, I was wondering what are some rules on navigating nearby to other boats and the shore? Do you normally pass on the right side? How far do you stay away from populated beaches and other boats?

Just the other day i witnessed what i thought would be a collision course between the quantam of the seas and an anchored container ship. Both about 1200 feet long, one of them was anchored near the verrazano bridge off the coast of brooklyn.
ShipOfFools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 05:28   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Newbie - Rules on navigation

If you want the complete answer search this forum for one of the many previous discussions on ColRegs (Collision Regulations). To be answered properly and completely is more than a short answer to your question could ever do. Like asking, "What are the rules for driving a car on the streets and highways of the USA?"

To begin to answer, when there is some chance of collision boats will be considered "stand on" or "give way". Which is which is determined by the details of the ColRegs. Stand on means that boat should maintain course and speed so the give way boat can plan and maneuver in a way to avoid collision.

For example if you are overtaking (passing from behind) another boat then you are the give way boat and required to pass in a way that will not create a risk of collision. The other boat must stand on so you will know that your plan will be correct and safe.