Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-10-2017, 17:08   #1

Advice wanted: How to import boat from Grenada to Canada

Hi. I've found my dream boat but it's in Grenada and I want to get it to Canada. I'm new to this though and I'm wondering if anyone knows how to deal with this. I understand what I would need to do once I get to Canada to get it registered, pay the tax, etc., but how would I go about actually buying it and getting it here?

So questions:

How would I get a survey done?

What documents would I need to have to prove ownership once in Canada?

How could I get it to Canada? I was thinking that if I could get it to Florida I could have it trucked, but is it reasonable to ask the broker there to get it to Florida for me so I wouldn't have to worry about insurance etc. until it is here?

How does payment typically work? I plan on flying down there to check it out first, but if I want it, would I use a money order, or do a bank transfer right then, or wait until I get back home? I don't want to make 2 trips.

Would anyone buy something like this without actually seeing it, but rely on the survey to know if it is in good shape - then go down to do the final deal once everything is in place?

What questions have I not asked?

I'm sure I sound like a total noob, but I've only ever bought boats here in Canada but there is nothing like what I want here.

Thanks in advance for any help.
davidkuehner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 17:11   #2

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: Advice wanted: How to import boat from Grenada to Canada