Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-06-2017, 08:03   #1

Boat: 34' Crowther tri sold 16' Kayak now
Seattle to Hawaii in August

I'm about 99% committed to taking my old Crowther tri to Hawaii this August and am looking for advice on anything that is relevant.

I sold my Crowther Buccaneer 34 tri a year ago to a lady from Europe. She is an accomplished sailor and teaches sailing over there. The boat was left here in the Sound at my old marina and she even let me use it while she was away. I'm not that experienced but I do know how to sail that boat and the boat is a West Systems epoxy built with epoxy beams and is solid. I had it at 15.5 knots but I'm sure she will go faster. We are working on all the last minute details which are many as you can imagine.

I have been reading up on the Pacific High and the route from here. I know the high can move around but generally speaking once we are in the winds where is the likely landfall? It seems like it will be more south than north Hawaii. Yup, I know the islands are a big area but we don't have an exact destination so we can be fluid. On the other hand it would be nice to have a slip somewhere if we can get one. She does have a buddy who does routing for racers and he will be sending us advice by sat phone but I want to get some info prior to leaving. And we know about the possibility of hurricanes.

And the other question. Can we find a slip and where's the best place for that? It has a 24' beam. Or is that unobtanium? Or where are the good anchoring spots without coral. She wants to continue on to the south Pacific but I will fly back at some point.

I appreciate all your feedback. Be gentle.

Bobber
Old 28-06-2017, 09:34   #2

Boat: Currently boatless
Re: Seattle to Hawaii in August

I was going to suggest the seminars for the Vic-Maui but you are in between years (2016 last one, 2018 next one). Vic-Maui Yacht Race.
Livia is offline   Reply With Quote