Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-07-2012, 17:46   #1

Boat: William Garden CT 41 Ta Chaio
Restore & Refit

Captains...Ahoy,
I have been sailing for almost 7 years. My first vessel was a Catalina 27, very beautiful boat. She sails in Texas now with a Captain who takes excellent care of her. My second...a Catalina 31 Tall. She had the head room my six foot wife needed, so she wouldn't bump her head. She is gone with the wife. oh well....

I now have acquired a CT Ta Chiao. She was seized by the Florida coast guard and now I have her all the way in Indiana! Yes, you read correctly. Indiana!

She was gutted and searched, but her parts are there, with a bit of structural damage to mostly the cabin, where the Coast Guard cut out possible hiding places. She has been in a storage building for 22 years. Her hull is sound, and the person I bought her from, repaired the teak deck.

My question is this....now what? after a thorough interior cleaning, she is mostly empty. wiring, plumbing etc. needs replaced. I have the circuit board and think that is where I should begin. Please advise.

Lou
BSV2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2012, 18:22   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Re: Restore & Refit

Quote:
I have the circuit board and think that is where I should begin.
Sounds like you need a total plan to refit this boat before you just start doing things. It is very possible the sitting for a long period and the USCG destruction could make this boat more trouble than it's worth and you need to seriously understand how much money you'll need to complete the whole boat. Walking away could be the cheaper alternative. For the same money you could just get a boat.