Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-12-2015, 13:24   #1

South Africa to Florida

I may need a crew to help me sail a 38 catamaran from South Africa to Florida. Since I don't have much experience , I will need people with knowledge and experience. Lets talk.
Old 30-12-2015, 09:15   #2

Re: South Africa to Florida

Please see the attached
Bob Burg (Charisma1937)
Columbia, SC

Sailing Resume

College graduate, have sailed the Bahamas and Caribbean for the last 40 years on sail and powerboats, mostly sail. Have owned and sailed 32’ Down east sloop, 43’ Choy Lee motor sailor, 55’ Lagoon catamaran, 65’ Hatteras long-range cruiser, and a 16’ Hobie Cat. Am experienced in the Bahamas and most of the islands in the Caribbean as far as the ABC islands. In my first life I was a freelance corporate pilot and wholesale liquor distributor. I can perform all sailing responsibilities including navigation, sail handling, standing watch, cooking, tending bar and being a good host. I’m PADI certified and I can fix minor mechanical problems, but I’m not an engineer. I require expenses to and from the boat and while engaged. Available June 1, 2016 until whenever.
Old 30-12-2015, 11:06   #3

Sorry, I was thinking more of __a participating in the expenses,__ kind of offer.
Old 30-12-2015, 11:25   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanlou View Post
Sorry, I was thinking more of __a participating in the expenses,__ kind of offer.
Delivery skippers are paid to do deliveries because they have the knowledge and experience to do so.

I would check with your insurance company about what they want in a crew.

I did a delivery from Cape Town to Fernando de Noronha in September October. The insurance company had a close look at my resume.

If this is a Leopard cat you are moving, talk to Tuimarine about their delivery skippers.
Old 30-12-2015, 12:45   #5

Pm send
Best regards
Zbig
Old 30-12-2015, 12:58   #6