Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-07-2015, 14:29   #1

Boat: Ericson 27
What do you think of this boat for a novice?

Another rookie sailor wannabe/lurker here.

Some background; I have a lot of boating background, time on the water, been piloting powerboats in shore and off shore since I was old enough to hold a tiller or wheel. Good at reading water, charts, weather, etc., comfortable out there. West Coast of Florida residents.

I've learned a great deal lurking here and soaking up information, there's wealth of it here on the board. My sailing experience is limited to sailing a little Sunfish when I was a kid some, wife has some sail time but not much more than me. I would say I know what I can learn from reading and studying and no more experience than a recent half day instructional (which we both very much enjoyed) so I figure I don't really know anything - yet.

My plan has always been to live aboard when the time is right and my wife shares the same mindset, whether that happens in our target time frame we'll see but in the interim it's time to get some experience and it's something I have always wanted to do.

The plan is get a 25+ more or less cruiser to weekend on and day sail around the West coast of Florida. Gunk hole with my wife and son and enjoy sailing. Something adequate on the near shore gulf here with enough room but doesn't need to be extravagant. We want to limit the investment now and we'll look at upgrading down the road.

The parameters I have come up with so far are:
Shoal draft due to the local waters and extreme tides. I think this is a must have for what I know we like to do.
Ease of handling, I'll single hand it at times, relative inexperience factor.
Relatively safe for my intended use and again the inexperience factor.