Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-06-2015, 09:38   #1

Novice Buyer Question: 1980 Tanzer 7.5M (25 foot)

I've been lurking around these forums for over a year now and finally getting around to making my first post. I am a complete novice to sailing and was told a small Tanzer would be a good boat to learn to sail on. The bar I set for my first boat is quite low (i.e. has to float, disposable price range in case I wreck it, etc.) and I came across a number of options including this one:

1980 Tanzer Sailboat For Sale | sailboats | Ottawa | Kijiji

The boat over all seems to be in decent condition aside from what seems to be hairline surface cracks. I attached some photos to get some opinions as to whether what I observed is serious or simply cosmetic. If I was purchasing a boat in the 30k range I would have it surveyed no question however at a $1,800 price point it hardly seems worth the $500 expense.

Thank you in advance for any insight you can provide.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByCruisers Sailing Forum1435163836.131368.jpg
Views:	336
Size:	111.0 KB
ID:	104147
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByCruisers Sailing Forum1435163858.924150.jpg
Views:	334
Size:	116.2 KB
ID:	104148

Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Harbourbaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2015, 15:42   #2

Re: Novice Buyer Question: 1980 Tanzer 7.5M (25 foot)

The basic design is good and well proven. Even though the price is low I would still have it surveyed or gone over by someone with experience. Gel coat cracks like that while not pretty are not uncommon and usually don't effect the structure.
robert sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2015, 16:00   #3