Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2017, 12:37   #1

Cartagena to Antigua

Hello, this is my first post on this forum.
I am planning a trip from Cartagena, Colombia where I am currently docked, to Antigua in the Leeward Islands later this month. The only question I have is what may be the best way to cross given that the winds in the area blow from the east? Should I plan to aim a few degrees north, or would some tacking pattern be best?

I am fairly new to sailing and hope that someone with more experience (especially in this area) might be able to help me as I am not used to navigating so much against the wind.

I will be sailing in a Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 45ft Sloop.

Thank you for any help you can give
jeanneau_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 18:28   #2

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Re: Cartagena to Antigua

And let me guess...you need to be there by a particular date right?

The good news is that the nasty bit of ocean off Colombia starts to settle down about this time of year...unfortunately thats about it for good news.

Maybe someone else can come up with something else positive.
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 18:42   #3

Boat: Boatless

A hard slog to windward and probably the hardest passage in the Caribbean. The trip from Cartagena past Santa Marta can be very hard. Get to Aruba and then sail best course to windward to the northern Caribbean and then work the lee of the islands down to Antigua.

Take lots of fuel and allow lots of time as it is very hard to tack east against wind and current.

Good luck you will be an experienced sailor by the time you get to Antigua probably just in time for the first Tropical Storm.

"Remember, experience only means that you screw-up less often."