Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2017, 04:48   #1

Boat: Cabot 36
Rewiring a Cruising Monohull (Input appreciated)

I am in the process of rewiring my 1975 Cabot 36 sailboat with plan to sail the Caribbean for a year and potentially further later. I have put together a wiring diagram (link) that lays out what I am planning to use and how it connects. This is mostly based on using Nigel Calder's Mechanical and Electrical Handbook, MaineSail's website, and several forums and other online sources.

I would really like some input into if there is anything I have shown that just looks like a bad idea or is dangerous. I am not an expert electrician by any means but as a boat owner I am learning to do a little bit of just about everything.

Please let me know if you need additional information and thank you for your input.

https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/p...OKJsd3J8JKG4AE

Additional details about what I am using.
AC System
Smartplug shorepower inlet -> Galvanic Isolator -> Blueseas ELCI Panel +4 Positions (shore panel) -> Victron Multiplus (Inverter/Charger) -> 4 position (inverter panel)

DC System
Betamarine 38 with 120amp Alternator -> Firefly Battery (2 Starter + 2 House (might add 2 more house)) -> Victron Multiplus (Inverter/Charger) Blue Seas ACR-SI -> Blue Seas on/off battery switches -> 16 position panel

I will eventually add solar and possibly wind as alternate power sources in the next phase of this project.
Intotheworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 09:31   #2

Boat: 57' Laurent Giles Yawl
Re: Rewiring a Cruising Monohull (Input appreciated)

Hi,
I'm not an electrician, but here's my feedback:
  • I think you should fuse the starter battery. Boats have burned and sank because of a short in the starter circuit.