Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2017, 14:39   #1

Looking for new homebase - Florida towns for a new family

Thanks in advance, guys!
We are a young family (wife and I are in our early 30's and have a newborn son) looking to move to Florida in Sept-Oct. of 2018.
I'm an architect, looking to start my own business in the new location and my wife is finishing up her program (medical) and will start to look for jobs this fall. We'd appreciate suggestions on areas suitable to our needs to let my wife's recruiter know where to look/apply for placements. My wife could also work from home, but will need part time placement at a hospital/clinic.

What we are looking for:
Live near the beach in a house/condo
Live near good day-sailing and have access to cruising waters
Have a family friendly town with good schools
Have good restaurants within driving range

I've been spoiled with sailing/racing out of City Island, Bronx on LIS and quite enjoyed the blue-collar feel of the place and the people.
I'm looking to get my family into cruising and maybe racing when my boy grows up. Possibly take a few years off and do "The Loop". We don't have a boat yet and I could use more experience sailing by myself.

I've read a few forums about towns best suited for day-sailing and cruising, like the "Best town for sailors between Savannah, GA, and Georgia, FL" thread and found great suggestions.
Ponte Verde Beach, St. Augustine and Jacksonville is on the map along with Amelia Island. My wife loved the Miami area when she lived there. I'll be happy to avoid the traffic, I've had enough of it here in NY.