Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 19:36   #1

Boat: Finot 45 - steel
Yachts in transit - new system for weather, blogging, diving, walking tracking

HI All,

My wife and I finished our first cruise of the pacific last year and while she went straight back to work (her old job) I unfortunately had to resign before we left and haven't found work since. So being an unemployed web developer I thought I would help out Gulf harbor radio here in nz and build a yacht tracking system primarily for their weather service they do, but that also does remote position based blogging, diving locations, snorkeling locations and walking tracks.

Just gone live -> Welcome to Yachts in Transit | Yachts in Transit

Its completely free and is built for cruisers to check in to the weather net (everything is via email) with their position and weather. This allows the gulf harbor radio to have a list of boats, their weather and positions and groupings of those positions to come to them. It also allows people to upload their favorite diving, snorkeling and walking locations so others know where they are and can enjoy. Like Bird Island on Wallace!

Give it a try, get diving and snorkeling sites within 50 miles of vavau tonga. Send an email to get@yit.co.nz with no subject and the following body.

[position]18 39.362S 173 58.892W
[diving]50
[snorkeling]50

or get some weather for tonga and / or the high seas.

get@yit.co.nz
no subject
[weather]
:tonga
:subtropic

to register all you need to do is
register@yit.co.nz
BOATNAME as subject
[register]
assword YOURPASSWORD
This is the description of my yacht, its a ketch, blue and is 12m long. .....

then to put a position in all you need is to send an email like this.

send@yit.co.nz
BOATNAME
[password] YOURPASSWORD