Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2016, 05:01   #1

2 Main Sheet Sailing on a Moorings 4000 AKA Leopard 40

Hi,
Does anyone have experience with the 2 main sheets on the Leopard 40? I'm new to skippering and previously have always chartered hiring a captain. After spending the last couple of years acquiring my ASA certifications up to catamaran 114 I finally chartered without a captain on a Moorings 4000 last week. It was just my wife and I as we always dreamed we could do and we had a blast. We left The Moorings BVI base and returned a week later with nothing but incredible memories, pride for our accomplishment, AND most importantly, NO INCIDENTS.

I learned my single hand sailing on a Fountaine Pajot Orana 44 which had 1 main sheet, traveler, and a winch that was clearly used for the main sheet and a winch that was used for the jib sheets swapping the working jib with the lazy gib on the tack. Easy breezy.

On my Moorings charter boat the 2 main sheets confused me. I tried two methods: The first was to use the winch on the right for the jib sheets and the winch on the left for the main sheets. But this method caused all kinds of crossing lines out of the chocks and didn't make tacking any easier by having to change 2 winched lines simultaneously through the tack.