Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2018, 12:45   #1

Cruising Mexico from US

So this is my first time posting even though I have been a member and reading through the forums for the past year. That being said - yes I have looked at the internet and done a search on the forums (the results had nothing to do with my search query) before posting these questions.

My search on the internet (noonsite.com, www.gob.mx, mexonline.com/nboatmx) gave me some information but I wanted to see if others out there who have sailed from the US to Mexico and on to Panama have additional information, sites, or books that could be useful.

My questions primarily have to do with documentation and requirements needed when sailing into Mexico, tips to make this process as easy as possible, and any other information others with experience might give. Also, I saw on one website you need a Captain's license to sail into Mexico but I have not seen this anywhere else; is there any validity to this?

Thanks!
svlucinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 07:11   #2
cat herder, extreme blacksheep

Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Re: Cruising Mexico from US

if you are sailing into mexico you need passport visa t i p fishing license crew list and a fuel receipt or zarpe. west coast fuel receipt works.
you need to stop in first port of entry. from usa that is ensenada. check into country. you will also need some money.
stopping in san diego is one way to get your paperwork started
or just appear in ensenada at port capt office. they will walk you thru it.
if you sailing baja haha all this is taken care of for you and all your questions will be answered before you leave usa. haha is well organized.
information can be found in the mexican inm site.... http://www.inm.gob.mx/index.php/page...rizacion_Visas
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 07:38   #3

Boat: SAnta Cruz 27