Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Regional Forums and Groups > Asia
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-05-2018, 11:10   #1

Boat: Catana 42
Recommendations for broker/surveyor/help in Thailand/Malaysia

Hello.

New to the forum, so please forgive any faux pas.

We are looking to purchase a 40'ish catamaran for full-time regional cruising in SE Asia. We are living in San Francisco now.

There are a few boats that we are interested in that we found in Phuket/Langkawi, and I expect we will find some more in the next year (we plan to start sailing in June 2019).

I am trying to find in the Phuket/Langkawi area:
- A buyer's broker
- A surveyor
- A check-er-outer (see below)

I'm new to the boat buying game, and not sure how important a local broker is, versus using a US broker. If looking for a local one is not necessary, I'd appreciate hearing advice on that. I am well aware that there are a lot of brokers in the US who claim that they can add a lot of value to transactions half way around the world, but seems to me that local would have a lot of advantages.