Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-03-2010, 19:43   #1

Baja this Summer

I am a teacher in southern California. I am taking ASA 101, 103, and 104 this spring and practicing a lot. This summer, starting late June, I plan to sail from Marina del Rey to La Paz and back on a sub-30-footer. I appreciate any advice that you guys can give me.

I hear summer is hurricane season. What precautions should I take?
jbosborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2010, 21:31   #2

You'll have a great time. Don't worry too much about the hurricanes. It'll be HOT in the summer.
daddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2010, 21:37   #3

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
G'Day JB,
LEt me be the first of many to suggest that the best precaution is to NOT LEAVE IN JUNE. Most folks wait until October or later to do this trip, and the reason is definitely the advent of cyclone season.

I recognize that June fits in with most teachers schedules, but you are talking about a life-threatening voyage here. There are few hurricane holes on the outside Baja coast, and in a small boat getting into one after the wx deteriorates is sometimes impossible.

Teach, you need to review your study materials and then reconsider your options.

Cheers,

Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II lying Church Point, NSW, Oz
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2010, 22:35   #4

Boat: no longer on my Cabo Rico 38 Sanderling
Send a message via MSN to John A
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbosborn View Post
I am a teacher in southern California. I am taking ASA 101, 103, and 104 this spring and practicing a lot. This summer, starting late June, I plan to sail from Marina del Rey to La Paz and back on a sub-30-footer. I appreciate any advice that you guys can give me.

I hear summer is hurricane season. What precautions should I take?
Since you've asked for advice and opinions, I'll express mine.