Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-07-2019, 14:54   #1

Boat: 2002 Lagoon 470
Buying a cruiser in NZ, where do I register/flag?

I live in the US, but don't plan on bringing the boat back to the US. At this point I am just learning about registration options. What do I need to be looking out for? Taxes will just go to the registering country right? Can anyone refer me to a source where I can find all this information? Much appreciated, I'm drowning in questions and don't know where to go for answers, as I bought the boat without a broker. Thanks for your advice!
CaptHotelIndia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 15:00   #2

Boat: 50’ Bavaria
Re: Buying a cruiser in NZ, where do I register/flag?

Where do you plan to travel? Nz registration just got way cheaper, but you will need to have the boat well up to scratch before leaving nz in it if you do so. Until you do, there’s no need to register a NZ boat at all — they’re like shoes: you just own them. Best keep the receipt if you have one if you intend to register overseas though.

You should tell us your plans and any other citizenships you might have before we can give you a better answer.
Tillsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 15:24   #3

Any particular reason for not registering it in the US?
cj88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 15:58   #4

I am a US citizen, and no particular reason not to register in the us other than I have been told by one insurance company they wouldn't insure a boat registered in Hawaii, where I live.

My travel plans will basically be the south pacific, seasonally, for now until I can hopefully move onto the boat in a few years.
I have just learned that you can not register a sailboat in NZ if you are not a citizen or immigrant.
Old 26-07-2019, 16:09   #5

There are often discussions on the best flag to choose on the NZ sailing forums, eg:

Cayman Islands Registry? - CruiseTalk - Crew.org.nz