Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-06-2016, 14:18   #1

Complete boat electrical and electronics from scratch

Hi everyone.

I'm new to cruising and to sailboats and have been doing lots of research into the type of electrical system and electronic navigation gear for our Alberg 30.

My partner and I are heading down the ICW this fall and into the Caribbean.

We live off grid and want the boat to be as self sufficient as possible, energy wise and don't want to rely on the engine.

I've figured out the Amp draws that we will be requiring for the time at anchor and the time making passages and am sizing the system on the later.

My questions in this post are relating to Navigation equipment. We are looking for the most energy efficient way to use electronics on board. Both of us are energy savers and looking forward to keeping the electrical draws to a minimum.

1.From our research we feel we need a VHF with DSC and possibly AIS integration and GPS .

Questions:

a. Will the GPS and AIS information from the VHF be available via Bluetooth to an ipad or tablet?

b. Would we still require a separate means of GPS to link wireless to the tablet? Only some tablets will have the quality of GPS required for use in navigation. Anyone have any experience with this?

2. Radar is important and we have found that Broadband radar uses a very small amount of power in comparison to traditional radar.
Questions:

a. How does the Radar communicate with an ipod or tablet? Does it have to be plugged in and/or use special software?

Any advice would be great!
Timber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2016, 14:44   #2
CLOD

Boat: none
Re: Complete boat electrical and electronics from scratch