Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2017, 14:01   #1

Island Yacht Charters

I chartered with Island Yacht Charters this summer and in doing my research, found very few reviews of IYC that weren't on their Web site. I thought it might be useful to somebody if there was a recent review, so here is one.

To start with, I've chartered 3 times now and also taken a 3 day class in a J120. That's the extent of my bigger boat experience. Spent a summer sailing a 29 ft and dabbled in dinghies, and that's it, so I'm no sailing expert. Read this review knowing that.

I wanted to get experience with different types of boats and Island Yacht Charters out of Red Hook charters Island Packets. We chartered over Memorial Day and because they are closed on Memorial Day, I picked up the boat, an IP440, the day after. My wife and I and my two teen sons had the boat for 9 days. The norm is 10 days (or 7), but they were closed the first day I was there. They chartered the boat for the same per day price as their standard 10 day charter. IYC was prompt and clear in their communications up front and had the boat ready when we got there. There is a pretty good grocery store literally across the street, where we provisioned. Red Hook is USVI and the prices at the grocery store were very reasonable. IYC provided us a cart to walk across the street with. The grocery store will deliver to the boat if you choose, but we didn't.

The pre charter briefing was extremely thorough. It took well over an hour. There was about 15 minutes spent on looking at charts and the rest of the time was spent on the boat going through systems. I considered it time well spent, but I can imagine some people might be anxious to get going. Like i mentioned, the boat was ready when we got there, so after provisioning and the briefing, we were off.