Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2016, 22:07   #1

Is this possible? Hawaii to California

Is it foolish for me to want to sail from Oahu to Newport California in 2 1/2 years? I have no experience sailing whatsoever; I am going to look at a boat next weekend to buy and liveaboard and I will hire someone to teach me how to sail, then I will practice over the next few years by sailing to other islands and around oahu.

I am in the Navy and plan to learn all about navigation through people I know on the boat. I've read that the best time to go is like late July or early September. I get out of the Navy November of 2018, or late September 2018 if I take terminal leave. So my option would be to take terminal and leave right away or get out in November, stay in hawaii and leave in July; which i am leaning towards this option because then I will have a lot more time learning to sail. Any advice on this?
odeapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 22:30   #2

Re: Is this possible? Hawaii to California

https://youtu.be/28TAdDu5L6U
GypseaSoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 22:33   #3

For some reason I cannot post the link, but it's completely possible, check YouTube.."alone together"
GypseaSoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 23:01   #4

Yeah watched that already, Im just asking will 2 years be enough to gain enough experience to do this? I think so; I think experience can really only be gained by taking advice and well actually experiencing things.

My dad says im stupid for even thinking about it, but I think it will be something that will teach me a lot about myself
Old 05-12-2016, 23:35   #5
cruiser

Boat: Hitchhiker, Catamaran, 40'