Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-03-2016, 17:47   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.
Boat: Morgan OI 413 1973 - Aythya
New Portlights for my 1973 Morgan

I've been chasing leaks for 31 years among my 12 fixed portlights set in large rubber gaskets on my '73 Morgan and I've decided to apply 3/8" acrylic set over the apertures with 3M4991 tape and Dow 791.

The old 1/4" polycarbonate plates were clouded..

I removed the old portlights and cleaned the 1" thick fiberglass aperture for the ports....

Here's one of the four that I've completed. I have some pressure on this longer portlight to help secure a slight bend....

I'll post a full view when I finish this port side and turn around to work on the starboard.
Old 29-03-2016, 17:53   #2

Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!
Re: New Portlights for my 1973 Morgan

What'd you use for adhesive? Ditto on prep solvents?

The Uncommon Thing, The Hard Thing, The Important Thing (in Life): Making Promises to Yourself, And Keeping Them.
UNCIVILIZED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2016, 04:11   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.

I used the 3M VHB 4991 two-sided acrylic foam tape 1" wide and 90 mils thick. The recommended solvent prep, after thoroughly cleaning and sanding with 220 grit paper, was wiping with 50% isopropyl alcohol and drying. After pressing in place I ran a bead of Dow 791 black sealant around the edge.

"Pressing in place" is critical. There's no second chance adjustment opportunity.
Old 30-03-2016, 04:45   #4

Looks real nice.