Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2017, 02:14   #1

Boat: Hallberg-Rassy Rasmus 36
Best boat maker for liveaboard cruising

Hi guys, I’m new to the site and have only had a minor trawl so apologies if this has already been discussed excessively.
I am a veteran (Navy) looking to move my life onto water and get myself a monohull for permanent live aboard. I appreciate the question posed in the title is extensive and doesn’t exactly have one answer so I’ll explain my circumstances/requirements and then I’ll bend to the opinions of some of the saltier dogs on here.
Firstly experience: I’m light years away from calling myself an experienced sailor. I have done a fair few sailing holidays with friends and i have mucked about in standard 32/36 foot Sloops with one other crew. I have no big passages under my belt but have a good grasp on the theory and am fairly comfortable with the essentials. I’ve completed 8 years as both a Royal Navy navigator/deck officer and then diver and I know the sea pretty well, I understand weather systems and have good knowledge of rules of the road/harbour protocol.