Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2016, 08:42   #1

Boat: MacGregor 26M
Wanting to Retire in the US Virgin Islands

Hello fellow sailors!

My wife and I have been Bareboating for 3 years in various locations trying to hone in on a location to retire to and a boat to do it on. We plan on retiring in 8 years, so we have time to investigate! We like catamarans for their stability. We chartered a 43' Lagoon and sailed from FL to Bimini. But the boat can be a topic of discussion for another post.

Our thought is to charter in US Virgin Islands, but I keep reading how great BVI Bareboating is. I like St John for the peace, but no marinas is an issue for me. St Thomas has marinas but seems too commercialized with Cruise ships...

I like the idea of a US territory for cell phones and (medical?) But perhaps BVI is better overall.

We plan to maintain a residence in MN for the summers, so we would also need a safe place for the boat over the summer.

Thanks for the help!
born4sailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:07   #2

Boat: Grand Banks 49
Re: Wanting to Retire in the US Virgin Islands

Quote:
Originally Posted by born4sailing View Post
Hello fellow sailors!

My wife and I have been Bareboating for 3 years in various locations trying to hone in on a location to retire to and a boat to do it on. We plan on retiring in 8 years, so we have time to investigate! We like catamarans for their stability. We chartered a 43' Lagoon and sailed from FL to Bimini. But the boat can be a topic of discussion for another post.