Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2012, 11:09   #1

Hello from Clear Lake, Texas

Hello everyone, great to find such a community of like-minded folks. I am new to sailing, not new to the water. I grew up in Key Largo, FL fishing the back country, Everglades and spear fishing the ocean side. Ended up moving to the Clear Lake area for a job with the space program about 4 years ago. Now I'm working in the oil and gas world and probably here for the long haul.
My wife and I have been bitten by the sailing bug after a beautiful week long trip to St. John, USVI a few years ago. We went on a day sail with a couple running a charter operation and had a blast. We fell in love with the Caribbean and have since went on some other trips on the large cattle boats...err...cruise ships, and really discovered a curiosity to explore the islands beyond what these types of trips can provide. So the next time will be on our own time, our own itinerary, and just us...and maybe a couple close friends.

I'm preparing to begin some ASA courses and joint a local club (not sure which one yet) to get some experience. I'll head on over to the Texas group and introduce myself there, too. As far as boat ownership goes, not there yet. Maybe something in the 25-28 ft. range in the future for daysailing and some occasional overnighter's.

Thanks for the great forum!

Mike
mbhouston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 11:18   #2

Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Re: Hello from Clear Lake, Texas