Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2017, 17:52   #1

Lightbulb Updating interior of older catamaran

First, should a thread about this subject already exist, please excuse my inability to locate said thread. As a newbie here I recognize redundancy is frowned upon so at the risk of being reprimanded I will proceed with my questions.
I want to upgrade the interior of an older catamaran. The original carpet remains glued to the interior of the hulls and I'd like to update upgrade both the color and finish in those spaces. There has been some difference of opinion between the Admiral and myself as to what and how to make these changes. I'm hoping the vast experience and knowledge the members of this forum represent will be shared with some brilliant suggestions and methods for accomplishing this project. Thanks for any and all input.

I don't have a signature yet.

I don't have a catchy quote for this space, YET!
J0hn B0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2017, 01:28   #2

Re: Updating interior of older catamaran

So what's the question? What is the boat model? What upgrades do you want to do?
valhalla360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2017, 01:35   #3

Boat: Heavenly Twins 26

Hi John,

We're just doing this on our catamaran, a Heavenly Twins. The previous owner had glued carpet everywhere to act as a kind of wall covering. We've stripped it off, and are cutting out headlining (a kind of vinyl with a foam backing) using the bits of carpet as a template.

One thing to note is that when you're removing carpet from the fibreglass, you'll probably have to sand or wire brush the glue off - be careful of the glass fibres, you'll want to be well protected with PPE or you'll get it all over yourself.

Cheers

SV Kittiwake