View Single Post
Old 06-07-2009, 22:00   #1
catman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sidney, B.C, Canada
Boat: want a 40'+ high volume (comfort) economical cruising catamaran
Posts: 15
'Catamaran for Sale' Scam

Under the topic "BEWARE IF IT SOUNDS TO GOOD"

I saw an ad on sailboat.com for a 41' Lagoon for $200,000.
I emailed the seller.
He replied and stated that he was in Indonesia.
I asked for specs and pics.
His name was Ferry Ramos and he said that he received the catamaran as a wedding present from his father who died last year and so he was selling the cat.
He told me that a shipping company call Jurung Express shipped the boat to him.
I contacted the shipping company through a web site he gave me and asked for a quote to ship the same catamaran to Vancouver Island.
$5,500US.
Ferry wanted me to give him a 10% deposit once the shipping bill of lading was aquired.
I asked many question of Ferry about the catamaran and whether there were hotels to stay at when I come down to see it.
He would only answer about 10% of the ??.
I have been looking at a lot of catamaran web sites and pics of catamarans for sale.
Then one day I was looking at the pics that he sent me and started to think that the background buildings at the marina where the cat was supposed to be moored in Sabang Aceh was vaguely familiar.
I went back over all the earmarked listings that I had.
The pics were from a reputable US cat broker.
Ferry had stolen the pics from someone elses web sight and was trying to sell a cat that did not really exist.
I called him on it and he never responded.
I truly believe the shipping company website jurungexpress.com is also his creation.
Still searching...Catman
catman is offline   Reply With Quote