Cruisers & Sailing Forums (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Multihull Sailboats (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f48/)
-   -   Don't Bogart that Roach, My Friend (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f48/dont-bogart-that-roach-my-friend-48134.html)

Sand crab 08-10-2010 13:10

Don't Bogart that Roach, My Friend

Hl. I'm a newbie here. I paraphrased a popular song from the past to get your attention. I see a lot of sails described as full roach. So, I know a full roach sail when I see one but what is the technical criteria for defining a sail as full roach? Is there some standard percentage increase involved in sail area? And is there a partial roach sail? Or did we smoke all those in the 70's. LOL

Dave 08-10-2010 13:37

I believe a full roach means the entire luff is outside the straight line from sail head to clew. There are partial roaches when only a portion of the sail is extended using either full or short battens. Typically at the top, I've always called them "fat head" sails but I'm sure there is a more technical term. Regarding the 70's I think we used to eat them and wash them down with bong water...it was usually pretty late by then.

rebel heart 08-10-2010 14:24

Hey guys remember it's not funny to talk about pot but drinking and boating is hilarious and tolerated. :whistling:

zeehag 08-10-2010 14:24

"Regarding the 70's I think we used to eat them and wash them down with bong water...it was usually pretty late by then."

that sounds like barf time. eeewwwww.

one would NEED something decent and heavily alcoholic to get that thought out of mined....LOL

Sand crab 08-10-2010 14:26

Thanks Dave. Well, I've seen some sails with big roaches and some sails with not so big roaches. I guess if the entire aft portion of the sail extends beyond the leech then its a full roach. Most of the new cats feature a square topped main. They look kinda roachy. Is this full or partial? Just wondering? BOB

Sand crab 08-10-2010 14:28