Cruisers & Sailing Forums (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   PathMaker Battery Combiner Override (http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f14/pathmaker-battery-combiner-override-34328.html)

markpj23 21-12-2009 17:04

PathMaker Battery Combiner Override
 
I have a PathMaker model 100-3 combiner that has lost its brains. I've read the stories from the Manta group owners that report continuing problems with these units, so I'm not real enthusiastic about spending money to replace the logic board. I do have the remote control switch, but it will still not combine the banks as it should when I put that switch to manual ON. The only thing the unit does for me is show the yellow light when the house bank voltage drops below the threshold setting.

I can combine all banks by connecting a jumper from a battery B+ voltage to the solenoid actuating circuit (purple wire). As it sits now, only the house bank gets charged unless I jumper the solenoids this way - and that explains why my starting batteries were flat recently.

Anyway, I plan to just hard-wire a toggle switch to activate the combiner solenoids instead of replacing the "brain" that should do this automagically. I have a lighted (LED) switch so that I shouldn't forget and leave the banks combined.

Anyone see any problems in doing this? I'm just replacing the unit's brain with my own.... in the hope that I'll be smarter than a 5th grader... :D

Rick 21-12-2009 18:31

PathMaker check-out
 
What happens when you:
1. Remove the remote plug from the PathMaker
2. Disconnect all battery positive connections to the PathMaker
3. Reconnect the battery positive connections.
4. Attempt to use the local switch to force a "manual" combine command.

??

markpj23 22-12-2009 05:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rick (Post 377114)
What happens when you:
1. Remove the remote plug from the PathMaker
2. Disconnect all battery positive connections to the PathMaker
3. Reconnect the battery positive connections.
4. Attempt to use the local switch to force a "manual" combine command.

??

Rick - I've not tried any of these steps but will today. I did try jumpering the system negative and negative-on-remote terminals as called out in the manual. That had no effect either.

Thanks for the reply. Hopefully I'll post results tonight.

markpj23 22-12-2009 18:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rick (Post 377114)
What happens when you:
1. Remove the remote plug from the PathMaker
2. Disconnect all battery positive connections to the PathMaker
3. Reconnect the battery positive connections.
4. Attempt to use the local switch to force a "manual" combine command.

??

Rick here are the results:

#1: No effect at all

#2&3: I disconnected both the large battery cables and the sensing leads that connect to VB1,2,3 on the terminal strip. VB1 is my house bank to which all charging sources are connected. When I re-connected VB1, the solenoids closed and the green 'Connected' lights, both local and remote, came on briefly, then faded out. The solenoids released shortly thereafter.
Exactly the same behavior happens when I remove the system negative lead from the terminal strip - as suggested in the manual to reset the unit.

#4: No effect.

I connected a fused jumper from VB1 to the Coil / purple lead on the terminal strip and the solenoids closed. The green 'Connected' light on the remote and local panels lit. When I disconnect my jumper, the Connected light goes out, but after 15 seconds or so. A few minutes after that I hear the solenoids kick out.

So - what do you think I have here?

Morganministry 22-12-2009 21:11

Why not hard wire in a simple battery selector switch.
Like one of these.
Bep Marine 721 Heavy - Duty Battery Selector Switch, Marine, Bep Marine at Sportsman's Guide

I found that after a quick google search. I'm not sure if it is the same as what we use on fire engines. The ones we use are a simple switch with the battery cables connected to the back.
Hope that helps,
Scott

Rick 24-12-2009 10:42

Sad to say that the circuit board is potted and you can't get to the device that is bad in order to fix it. I may have a spare board somewhere.

markpj23 24-12-2009 11:15

Thanks for the help Rick - much appreciated!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:01.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.